“At my tender age of 88, it is difficult to grasp how the computer works and to follow exactly the sometimes complicated instructions. When my granddaughter Alexa decided to be my editor, we went to work and put the outlines of the book together until we had 13 different travel experiences we felt would give the reader an accurate understanding of very different places on the planet earth. We searched for a publishing company. I had several recommended companies lined up, when almost by accident I ran across Outskirts Press. I read the first review, was greatly impressed, and decided to give it a try. My first contact was with Terry. It took me quite a while to understand how the system works and Terry had all the patience and know-how it needed to win me over. Terry was so good and patient, that when it came to the next step, I hated to deal with somebody else and begged for someone with patience. Luckily I was assigned to Lisa, who was just the right ticket. I was always amazed how fast I received a reply. The very few times I had to wait a few days had a legitimate reason.
One of the highlights was when an e-mail came with the acceptance of publishing my manuscript and whoever read it gave it an incredible favorable report. I knew that person had read the whole book from A-Z. It felt good and boosted my confidence, this person did not know me and liked the book. At about the same time I had to say good-bye to Lisa and was assigned to Jamie. We had a somewhat rocky start, I guess Lisa had spoiled me, but eventually I got used to Jamie, and Jamie got used to me. Jamie was as caring and concerned as Lisa, and both were extremely helpful and patient. No, it was not an easy process, but we did it. I am holding the book in my hands right now. All my worries about spacing and correct editing are in the past. During this whole process every so often, I kept thinking, this is almost too good to be true, yet it was true to the end. I ordered my author’s copies, expected at least a three weeks wait, as I was warned but within three days the books arrived. (The same thing happened with the large shipment). Fortunately I had two friends who were able to help me open the box and admire the book with me. It was a tremendously joyful and emotional occasion. The book is truly well done. The colored pictures are excellent, the spacing of the pictures turned out perfectly and the font is easy on the eyes. Team of Outskirts Press: Thank you, you did a great job for me.”

Elisabeth Levy was born in Switzerland in 1927. She got her R.N. degree in Switzerland and immigrated to the United States in 1958. She and her sister Erika worked for a few months in different regions before settling in San Francisco. She found the job of her life at the dermatology office of Dr. S. William Levy. Eventually they got married and worked together until he died in 2005. She always liked to write and in 2007 started to get serious. She joined the Oakmont writers and published Destiny, the story of her friend’s life as a paraplegic, translated from German into English. She contributed several essays in the yearly Oakmont and Varenna writer’s anthologies. She helped to start the Varenna writers group and to this day still loves to write.


Product description…

“Carry On” is the author’s travel journal with 13 chosen trips between 1981 and 2013. Each chapter tells the unique experience of a specific country or an area with unusual circumstances and is enhanced with colored photos. The chosen trips are from all seven continents. Some countries have been visited twice and give an interesting comparison. This book is meant for armchair travelers, my friends, and young readers to make them aware we still can travel and help the world in different small ways. A reader, not known by the author, wrote: “What amazing adventures you have been on! You have a terrific writing style and I really enjoying reviewing your book. Your details about all of your trips were wonderfully descriptive. Your reader will feel as though they are right there with you. I enjoyed reading the vast differences in trips you experienced when visiting the same country more than once-especially China. I found it wonderful that so many of your trips had a goal of helping the people of that country. My favorite part of your book was your trip to Tanzania. I’m sure your presence and help there was very welcome. In your work, your narrative voice is just great – very familiar and easy to follow. I have to say that you have put together an excellent piece here. It looks to me like you have meticulously gone through your document revising and smoothing things out. It flows very nicely. It is one that should be well received by a wide audience. Congratulations on your work.”

Leave a Reply

