Introducing Joy Swan, author of Aunt Susy’s Boarding House

“I pondered and searched before deciding on Outskirts Press. I was still not sure when I chose them. because I wanted the best! Once I made the decision, I found that I got the BEST! Each phase was very helpful and they were even going the extra mile for me. I cannot praise them enough! Many times my patience was short, and I took it out on them and even told them! They put up with a lot from me. Thank you each and every one of you. You are great. I will certainly have you publish any book I write. Get Ready! Joy Swan”

About Joy Swan: The state of Maine is my home. I live in the mountains on a beautiful lake. In the early morning just as the sun has risen- I sit in my white wicker rocker in my blue sun room, my Rag Doll cat stretched out on my wicker lounge. Wifts of fresh mountain air come through my open window, the still quiet water promise a quiet mind to start the day. I have three wonderful children-each one is kind and thoughtful. I have learned that getting old means you can get away with a lot of things and be forgiven for them as you get old. The lady behind me thinks: that lady is old; she doesn’t know any better. She doesn’t know how much knowledge I have gained after living eighty-four years and learning something new every day! Enjoy the book!


Product description…

In the year 1900, a young lass is seen arriving in Dixfield, Maine. She sits straight upon the wagon seat and black curls escaping from under her white bonnet tied beneath her chin. A high, white-button shoe can be seen as she steps from the wagon. She reaches for two worn leather suit cases, she tethers her horse to the cement post beside the hotel then disappears behind the large doors of the hotel. A young man sitting across the street always with an eye for a pretty girl watches this lass as she steps from the wagon. He catches a glimpse of a slim white ankle as she steps to the ground. So begins the true story from the rugged beginning through the 1930’s. It will bring back memory’s long forgotten. You will laugh you will cry as you read this true story. Old fashion Thanksgiving, Christmas, Hurricanes, floods, murders and my life at Aunt Susy’s Boarding House. Happy to come home from school today to see my baby brother, Mama reading by the fire, Grandpa smoking his pipe. Maybe Grammy has made one of her chocolate cakes with butter frosting. I eagerly open the door to see every one crying. My world changed forever that day. Dale’s world changed forever and my mother’s world changed forever! Our world would never again be the same!

Leave a Reply

