Introducing Resty Farmer, author of A Teenager Called Nene San

“I was not happy with the publisher of my first Book. I decided to do an extensive search for a good publisher..and finally decided to send my manuscript to Outskirts Press. First time I submitted my manuscript, I was surprised and happy to received a very friendly e-mail from Brent Sampson, President/CEO, Outskirts Press, Inc. He stated that he was just checking to make sure everything was going smoothly…But if I had specific concerns, he would get involved. I was so impressed to received such friendly e-mail from the President of Outskirts Press. I am very proud to have Outskirts Press as my publisher! I want to thank all members of the Outskirts Publishing Team, the Production and Author Support departments. Everyone of them are so nice and friendly. Jamie,the Publishing Consultant, was there to answer my questions and made it easy for me through the entire process. Lisa, from the Manuscript Review Team, I thank her also for the excellent review of my book. Brie, my Author Representative–I am also very grateful for her suggestions and she guided me to make my book convince the reader to buy it. She was so nice and very friendly. I would like to extend my profound gratitude for the outstanding service to all the Publishing Team and Marketing Dept. As a published author of 2 books, if there are writers or authors out there searching for an excellent publisher, I highly recommend Outskirts Press as the best!”

Resty Vicencio Farmer is a retired nurse from Napa California. After the war, she returned to school in Manila and later went to work as a clerk typist at the Base Supply in Clark Field Air Force Base. After six months, Drake-Utah-Grove (D-U-G) inside Clark Field Air Base, hired Resty as the Company’s Librarian. It was there she met her WW II Veteran husband. Happily married, they later moved to the United States with their four daughters; one son was born in Napa, California.


Product description…

This is a true story of a teenager called Nene San by the Japanese during World War II in the Philippines. She was 15 years old, a student at St. Paul’s College Catholic School for Girls and living with her grandparents in Manila when the Japanese invaded the Philippines on December 10, 1941. Originally from Concepcion, Tarlac in the Philippines, she learned to speak the Japanese language, besides her own dialect (Pampango), Tagalog (the national language) and English. She witnessed the American flyer shot down by the Japanese during a dogfight and who was brought in front of their house. It took her 42 years searching for the family of the downed American flyer. As a teenager, she was pressed into service as an interpreter during the Japanese occupation. During liberation, she also interpreted for the American forces until the end of war. Nothing can be worse than war!

Leave a comment

Filed under History, Memoir

Leave a Reply

